Of Oceanic Wisdom

The ocean was calling out to him, like it always did. The moment it came into sight, he knew it was different. The view was unlike any other he’d ever seen. It was gloomy yet alive. It was fierce yet soothing. The waves lashed out at the rocks, dragging the sand away from the beach, only to be reunited with much fervor.

“Hello” he said. “Feels like I’ve been waiting to talk to you since forever.”

“Tell me what’s on your mind.” said the ocean.

“Will you help me find answers?”

“No I’ll help you understand your questions better.”

“What does that even mean?”

“It means that I’m just an ocean. What’s going on in your mind is far more complex and infinite than I am. All I can do is make it clearer for you. Throw your thoughts at me and I’ll return them to you, washed and stripped of all delusions, all pretense, and all colors.”

“And how will it help me?”

“Sometimes all you need is perspective.”

” I’ve heard that a lot.”

“Doesn’t make it untrue. I’m not a dustbin, where you can dump your thoughts and free yourself.”

“That’s not my intention.”

“Then what is it?”

“I want answers. I have choices to make. I need to find out what my life means or is meant to be.”

“You’ll have to wait and watch. What did you do when one of your flip-flops got carried away by a wave.”

“I waited.”

“You waited for it to wash ashore. What if it hadn’t showed up?”

“I would have gone home barefoot.”

“Exactly.”

“Is this the moment where I have a sudden realization and it dawns upon me what exactly it is that you’ve been trying to tell me?”

“Not really.”

“Then what am I supposed to do?”

“Can’t you just be?”

“I guess I can.”

“There you go.”

HELLOO! It’s been an hour since you’ve been staring at the ocean. Let’s go, everyone is waiting for you to leave.

“I was having a conversation.”

With yourself?

“You know what… that might actually be true. Let’s go.”

Leave a Reply

